Acadian history

This section is written to introduce you to the history of Acadia and the Acadian people. This is a brief introduction for those seeking a summary of Acadian history or those who want to refresh themselves by visiting our website.

Champlain Map of New France 1632

Champlain Map of New France, 1632

In short, Acadians are the descendants of French settlers who traveled to North America from 1604 on. Most of them are from western central France. They settled on the territory of ancient Acadia. Acadia included the territory east of New England and southeastern New France, present-day Nova Scotia, as well as part of New Brunswick and Île-du-Québec. -Prince Edward Island. Acadia was likely to include parts of Maine (United States) and Quebec.

Under British pressure, British Governor Charles Lawrence and the Council of Nova Scotia decided to expel the Acadians. This expulsion began in 1755. 10,000 to 18,000 Acadians were displaced by deportation (Grand Dérangement). Thousands more were killed.

In 1764, the British authorities allowed the Acadians to return in small isolated groups. They came back slowly, and they moved to various places in Nova Scotia and on Cape Breton Island. Others met in Newfoundland, the West Indies, France and even the Falkland Islands. About 3,000 Acadians settle in Louisiana, becoming our cousins the “Cajuns”.

It was just a glimpse of Acadian history. In our web pages you will find more information and a more detailed local history. Use the menu under “Search” to discover!

Donations
SQL requests:34. Generation time:0.695 sec. Memory consumption:58.54 mb

Histoire Acadienne

Cette section est écrite pour vous présenter l’histoire de l’Acadie et du peuple acadien. C’est une brève initiation pour ceux qui recherchent un résumé de l’histoire acadienne ou ceux qui souhaitent se rafraîchir en consultant notre site Web.

Carte de Champlain de la Nouvelle-France 1632

Carte de Champlain de la Nouvelle-France, 1632.

En bref, les Acadiens sont les descendants des colons français qui se sont rendus en Amérique du Nord à partir de 1604. La plupart d’entre eux sont originaires de l’ouest du centre de la France. Ils se sont installés sur le territoire de l’ancienne Acadie. L’Acadie comprenait le territoire situé à l’est de la Nouvelle-Angleterre et au sud-est de la Nouvelle-France, l’actuelle Nouvelle-Écosse, ainsi qu’une partie du Nouveau-Brunswick et de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Acadia devait probablement inclure des régions du Maine (États-Unis) et du Québec.

Sous la pression des Anglais, le gouverneur britannique Charles Lawrence et le Conseil de la Nouvelle-Écosse décident d’expulser les Acadiens. Cette expulsion a commencé en 1755. De 10 000 à 18 000 Acadiens ont été déplacés par la déportation (Grand Dérangement). Des milliers d’autres ont été tués.

En 1764, les autorités britanniques autorisèrent les Acadiens à revenir en petits groupes isolés. Ils y en a qui sont revenus, lentement, et ceux-ci se sont installés à divers endroits de la Nouvelle-Écosse et sur l’île du Cap-Breton. D’autres se sont retrouvés à Terre-Neuve, aux Antilles, en France et même aux îles Falkland. Environ 3 000 Acadiens sont installer en Louisiane, devenant nos cousins le “Cajuns”.

Cela n’a été qu’un aperçu de l’histoire acadienne. Dans nos pages Web, vous trouverez de plus amples informations et une histoire locale plus détaillée. Utilisez le menu sous “Recherche” pour découvrir!

Dons
SQL requests:29. Generation time:0.538 sec. Memory consumption:59.34 mb