The Musée des Acadiens des Pubnicos is located in West Pubnico, the oldest Acadian community still inhabited by the descendants of the founders.

musee-acadien-perspectif-2019History: In 1973, a group of interested citizens from West Pubnico got together and decided to organize an historical society as one way of working toward the preservation of their heritage. It now bears the name of “La Société Historique Acadienne de Pubnico-Ouest”. It has been quite active since its foundation and in 1977 its members purchased a dwelling house in the village which they promptly transformed into a museum. Through local help and donations, as well as through grants from the Federal and Provincial governments, the task of renovating the place went along very well, so that as it now stands the museum compares favourably with other museums of the same size. Artifacts have been coming from different sources and visitors seem to be pleased with what has been done so far.

Content: Since its official opening in 1979, the museum has acquired an impressive selection of artifacts which depict how life would have been for our ancestors at an earlier time. Return to 1653 to meet Pubnicos’ founders and appreciate the resourcefulness of the inhabitants. You will be treated to spectacular reproductions of this distant era and hundreds of artifacts and photos of this rich past.

In addition to household items, there are documents and literature dating back to the 1700’s which are of great interest to the genealogist and historian. The museum’s new wing boasts a fine display of cameras, photographs and associated paraphernalia. There are over 300 cameras spanning one hundred years of photographic history, including a very rare gas operated upright enlarger, circa 1895.


Donations
SQL requests:32. Generation time:0.853 sec. Memory consumption:57.75 mb

Le Musée des Acadiens des Pubnicos est situé à Pubnico-Ouest, la plus ancienne communauté acadienne toujours habitée par les descendants des fondateurs.

musee-acadien-perspectif-2019Historique: En 1973 un groupe de citoyens dévoués de Pubnico-Ouest se sont rencontrés et résolurent de former une société historique afin de préserver leur patrimoine. Cette organisation porte maintenant le nom “Société historique acadienne de Pubnico-Ouest”. Dès sa fondation elle fut très active. En 1977 elle achète une maison dans le village qu’elle transforme sans délai en musée. Grâce à l’appui et les dons de la communauté, ainsi que des octrois fédéraux et provinciaux, la tâche de rénover l’édifice est allée de bon train. Le musée se compare favorablement aux autres de même envergure. Les artefacts proviennent de sources variées. Les visiteurs semblent apprécier ce qui est accompli à date. Depuis son ouverture officielle le musée s’est porté acquéreur d’une collection des plus intéressantes d’artefacts qui offrent une expérience vivante de nos ancêtres d’antan.

Contenu: En plus d’articles de maison, l’on retrouve des documents et des écrits datant des années 1790 qui sont d’un grand intérêt pour le généalogiste et l’historien. Retournez jusqu’en 1653 rencontrer ses fondateurs et apprécier la débrouillardise des habitants. Vous aurez droit à des reproductions spectaculaires de cette lointaine époque et à des centaines d’artefacts et de photos témoignant de ce riche passé.

Dans la nouvelle annexe du musée l’on est fier d’exposer une intéressante collection de plus de 300 appareils-photos et des attirails relatifs à la photographie. La collection couvre cent ans d’histoire photographique y compris un agrandisseur droit opérant à gaz qui date d’environ 1895.


Dons
SQL requests:40. Generation time:0.687 sec. Memory consumption:62.83 mb